Yann Sommer

About

About

Yann Sommer is one of the most successful soccer goalkeepers Switzerland has ever produced, and the record holder in this position in the national team. He has also served as goalkeeper for Borussia Mönchengladbach in the German Bundesliga since 2014 – an important chapter in an extraordinary career. From his very first training session at the age of five, Sommer has proven to be a trusted and valued backstop.

On and off the pitch, a sense of responsibility and reliability are the values that define this top athlete. “My job is to play a sport, and that is my great joy every single day. Doing my part to contribute to the success of a team – being part of a greater whole – is what drives me,” says Sommer about his attitude to sport and life.

As the national team’s goalkeeper, Sommer is fully aware of his status as a role model – a responsibility he takes seriously but also with a healthy dose of humor, which is essential for staying relaxed. “As a perfectionist, I want to get a little better every day, to keep pushing the limits of my own physical and mental capabilities a little further,” he says. 

The goalkeeper is not only both a caring family man and a soccer player full of passion for his sport – he is also interested in the world outside of the stadium, and has a particular enthusiasm for music, photography and architecture.

One of Sommer’s most important principles in life is to live in the moment. No matter what he is doing at any given moment, he gives it his full attention: as a teammate, as a husband and father, and as a business partner. 

“Discipline has always been one of my great strengths, but to be successful, you also need passion and a burning desire to succeed. That’s what gives me the energy for every training session, every game and everything else that life has in store.”

To be fully present and ready at any moment is the essence of a goalkeeper. In Sommer’s case, it is also the core of his personality, making him a truly authentic figure.

Yann Sommer

About

Yann Sommer ist einer der erfolgreichsten Fussball-Torwarte, den die Schweiz je hatte und auf seiner Position der Rekordhalter in der Nationalmannschaft. Von 2014 bis heute spielt er ausserdem bei Borussia Mönchengladbach in der ersten Deutschen Bundeliga – eine wichtige Station in einer aussergewöhnlichen Laufbahn. Seit dem fünften Lebensjahr – und seit seinem ersten Training – steht Sommer als sicherer Rückhalt hinter seiner Mannschaft. 

Auf und neben dem Platz sind Verantwortungsbewusstsein und Zuverlässigkeit Werte, die den erfolgreichen Spitzensportler definieren. „Mein Job ist der Sport, und der ist meine grosse Freude an jedem einzelnen Tag. Meinen Teil zum Erfolg eines Teams – eines grösseren Ganzen – beizutragen, ist mein Antrieb“, sagt er selbst über seine Einstellung zum Sport und zum Leben.

Seiner Vorbildrolle als Nationaltorwart ist sich Yann Sommer jederzeit bewusst, und er versucht, diese Rolle gleichzeitig ernsthaft, aber auch mit einem gesunden Mass an humorvoller Lockerheit auszufüllen, die es für einen unverkrampften Auftritt braucht. „Als Perfektionist möchte ich täglich noch etwas besser werden, die Grenzen der eigenen körperlichen und mentalen Leistungsfähigkeit immer noch ein Stück weiter nach aussen schieben“, sagt Sommer. 

So ist der Torwart ein fürsorglicher Familienmensch und gleichzeitig ein Fussballer voller Passion für seinen Sport, den aber auch die Welt ausserhalb des Stadions interessiert, der sich für Musik, Fotografie oder Architektur begeistern kann.

Immer ganz im Moment zu leben, gehört zu den wichtigsten Lebensprinzipen Yann Sommers. Egal, was er gerade tut – seine volle Aufmerksamkeit gilt genau diesem Moment: als Teamkollege, als Ehemann und Vater, als Geschäftspartner: 

«Disziplin war immer eine meiner grossen Stärken, aber um erfolgreich zu sein, braucht es auch Leidenschaft und inneres Feuer. Das gibt mir die Energie für jedes Training, jedes Spiel und alles, was das Leben sonst noch an Aufgaben bereithält.»

In jedem Augenblick voll da zu sein, ist das Wesen des Torwarts. In Yann Sommers Fall ist es auch der Kern seiner Persönlichkeit, die ihn zu einem authentischen Gegenüber macht.